2021 MotoGP

Miguel Oliveira bags his first win of season in Barcelona’s Moto GP

Miguel Oliveira MotoGP racing
Portuguese Red Bull KTM Tech 3 Team rider Miguel Oliveira in action

A victory for Miguel Oliveira passing championship leader Fabio Quartararo storming over the finish line for his first win this season gaining 25 points during the Catalunya Grand Prix in Barcelona on Sunday.

The Portuguese ace, Oliveira, aged 26 managed to hold off Frenchman Johann Zarco, who came in second.

Aussie, Jack Peter Miller riding for the Ducati Lenovo Team came in third with 16 points whilst Frenchman, Quartararo finished fourth behind Australian Jack Miller after a 3 second penalty for coming off the track. Quartararo, the Yamaha rider was overtaken by Johann Zarco on the first turn at the start of lap 22, making an error by under braking forcing him to go wide off track. The time penalty cost the Frenchman third place.

Oliveira said that “everything was so hard – tyre management, keeping cool when Fabio was putting the pressure on me for so many laps. I saw my chance on the straight and overtook him back. It was the perfect race”.

Miguel Oliveira MotoGP 2021
MotoGP 2021 KTM rider Miguel Oliveira of Portugal

Next week MotoGP jets off to Saxony in Germany on 20th June at the Sachsenring. Racing has taken place in the town of Chemnitz since1920. The new circuit of Sachsenring, located 8km west of the town hosted its first MotoGPin 1998, undergoing upgrades in 2001. With its hairpin bends and the downhill right hander, the track is a challenge, keeping riders on edge.

Catalunya Grand Prix top 8 standings

1. Miguel Oliveira (Portugal/Red Bull KTM) 40mins 21.749secs

2. Johann Zarco (France/Pramac) +0.175secs

3. Jack Miller (Austria/Ducati) +1.990secs

4. Fabio Quartararo (France/Yamaha) +4.815secs

5. Joan Mir (Spain/Suzuki) +5.325secs

6. Maverick Vinales (Spain/Yamaha) +6.281secs

7. Francesco Bagnaia (Italy/Ducati) +8.175secs

8. Brad Binder (Russia/Red Bull KTM) +8.378secs

World Championship top 8 standings

1. Fabio Quartararo (France/Yamaha) 118 pts

2. Johann Zarco (France/Pramac) 101 pts

3. Jack Miller (Austria /Ducati) 90 pts

4. Francesco Bagnaia (Italy/Ducati) 88 pts

5. Joan Mir (Spain/Suzuki) 76 pts

6. Maverick Vinales (Spain/Yamaha) 75 pts

7. Miguel Oliveira (Portugal/KTM) 54 pts

8. Aleix Espargaro (Spain/Aprilia) 44 pts

Stay with us and be sure to sign up for our latest sports updates.

Be sure not to miss the latest sporting action by signing up to our updates with tips, predictions and event coverage direct to your inbox

Email address:

Our team of international journalists working relentlessly to bring you the latest compelling, factually accurate news as it happens, as it should be told, not how the governments want it to be told.

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

error: Alert: Content is copyright protected!